City Spotlight – Richardson

State Farm at CityLine Bush Station State Farm at CityLine Bush Station
Posted on Nov 10, 2023 by Leading Mobility newsletter

Each month, we will spotlight a city in the DART Service Area and the service that DART provides.

This year, the city of Richardson celebrates its 150th anniversary. Richardson voted to join DART in 1983 and has been part of the DART Service Area since the agency’s beginning.

Today, Richardson has:

  • 4 DART Light Rail Stations (Spring Valley, Arapaho Center, Galatyn Park, and CityLine/Bush) with 138,095 light rail boardings in Q4 FY 2023.
  • 11 Bus Routes (200, 202, 232, 238, 240, 243, 245, 247, 250, 408, 883) with 365,244 boardings in Q4 FY 2023.
  • 2 GoLink Zones (East Telecom and Central Richardson) with 4,902 GoLink boardings in Q4 2023.
  • Paratransit service with 6,868 paratransit boardings in Q4 FY 2023
  • 2 Future Silver Line Stations: UT Dallas and CityLine/Bush

Route 883 – known as the UT Dallas Comet Cruiser – is the highest performing bus route in the DART System, with an average weekday ridership of 6,833 riders in September.

DART is a key part of Richardson’s economic development strategy. When the city’s DART Rail stations opened in 2002, three of the four stations were surrounded by green fields. Access to rail and bus service attracted investors, and today, those stations are portals to transit-oriented development.

The Brick Row apartments and ground-floor retail stores neighbor Spring Valley Station with more development coming across the street. The Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel and Eisemann Center for Performing Arts, plus more apartments, lie a short walk across the plaza at Galatyn Park Station. At CityLine/Bush Station, the CityLine development is anchored by the State Farm regional office and includes several apartment communities, a shopping center, restaurants, office space, and a hotel.

Arapaho Center Station is adjacent to an existing industrial area in the heart of the Telecom Corridor®. DART is working with the city to redevelop much of Arapaho Center Station’s parking lot and transit center as part of the Richardson Innovation Quarter and to serve as a gateway into the Collins/Arapaho area.

Gary Slagel represents the City of Richardson on the DART Board of Directors. The agency appreciates the past and current support of the city’s elected officials and staff including Mayor Bob Dubey, City Manager Don Magner, and the entire Richardson City Council.

You can learn more about the city and its history at

Categories : Leading Mobility
Load more comments
Thank you for the comment! Your comment must be approved first

Get DART Daily by Email


Filter Content